jump to navigation

Problematical ATI driver… June 5, 2007

Posted by TSAI HONG-BIN in Linux.
trackback

Dreaming of fancy desktop but cannot afford Vista and additional 1G ram? Try ubuntu + beryl.

Dreaming of ubuntu + beryl with ATI vga card? ya, keep dreaming…

I don’t want to be hostile, so let’s skip my *beep* experience with AMD China. And jump directly to my laptop with ATI X600. fglrx is a properitory driver on linux platform officially released by AMD. IMHO, just take it and use it as is, don’t ask for more.

My first impression of fglrx was not so bad. The installation is quick and easy, and the aticonfig utility comes along is handy. I got my dual-head settings by simply running “aticonfig –initial=dual-head –screen-layout=right” and it works just fine. Unfortunately, happy story ends here. Oh, well, let me add some notes for those who want to know how to install fglrx manually.

1. download driver from http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/linux/radeonprevious-linux.html
2. execute it and keep click on Yes/Next
3. go to /lib/modules/fglrx/ and run make_install.sh
4. add this line


DISABLED_MODULES="fglrx"

to /etc/default/linux-restricted-modules-common

5. run depmod and reboot
6. done.

The nightmare starts on my wish of having a fancy desktop, beryl. To support beryl, X-window should start with a 3D engine. As far as i know, AIGLX is the best choice, as long as your VGA driver support.

*BEEP* ATI FGLRX DOES NOT SUPPORT AIGLX!!

Ok, let’s take plan B, XGL. It is a good news that my XGL runs well and I can see windows jumping, swirling over A screen, one screen. Remember? I set up for a dual-head originally. Now the other monitor just got black-out … Maybe AIGLX is a must solution for running dual-head + beryl. I ditched fglrx and asks for open source driver radeon. It’s not so difficult, just replace “fglrx” strings in /etc/X11/xorg.conf with “ati”. This time I see AIGLX enabled and dual-head stays. How wonderful, it just doesn’t support direct rendering on ATI X600…!

*BEEP* open source radeon driver doesn’t support all ATI cards!!

Now I see my dilemma, fancy desktop or dual-head? I picked the later in the end… and had had enough about ATI drivers.

Comments»

1. Neversay - June 6, 2007

Epson & ATI真的很惹人厭,driver爛又難跑。


Leave a Reply

